Blues reach for the Sky after U21 win

Wednesday, 14 December 2016

Blues reach for the Sky after U21 win thumbnailMayobridge midfielders CJ Barr and Daniel Catterson outjump Warrenpoint’s Aaron Magee at Burren on Sunday.

MAYOBRIDGE and Warrenpoint served up an absorbing and hard-fought contest in the Down U21 final at Burren on Sunday before the 'Bridge clinched the title by a four point margin, 2-10 to 1-9.

The 'Point were reduced to 14 men five minutes before half-time, but they made light of this handicap to push the 'Bridge right to the wire.

The Seasiders were quickest to settle, scoring two points in the opening three minutes. Shane Smyth opened his side's account when he converted a 45 in the sixth minute, but Ryan McAleenan was on target for the 'Point before Cory Quinn replied with a converted free.

Then came a crucial score when a high ball caused some confusion in the Warrenpoint defence and Paddy Smyth took full advantage to hit the net.

Buoyed by this score the 'Bridge added three more points from Conaill Gallagher, Cory Quinn and another 45 from Shane Smyth to go in at the break leading 1-5 to 0-4, but they suffered a blow just on the whistle when Paul Lively, who had caused the 'Point all sorts of problems had to go off with a serious knee injury.

The Seasiders came out all guns blazing in the second half and levelled the game within the opening three minutes with a goal and a point.

However, the Sky Blues showed great resolve by regrouping and after scores from Cory Quinn and Conaill Gallagher, Paddy Smyth nabbed his second goal to give his team a bit of breathing space.

The 'Point however continued to look dangerous but were guilty of wasting several good scoring opportunities. Cory Quinn with three points in the closing stages ensured that the championship trophy was heading home to the 'Bridge. Congratulations to the team and management of Brendan Grant, James Marron, Ciaran Magennis and Caolan Gallagher.

Mayobridge team and scorers: Sean McLoughlin, Reece Martin, Conor Fitzpatrick, Darren McPolin, Shane Annett, Barry Cunningham, Brendan Murtagh, C.J. Barr, Daniel Catterson, Aaron Gribben, Paul Lively, Shane Smyth (0-2), Patrick Smyth (2-0), Cory Quinn (0-6), Conaill Gallagher (0-2). Subs used: Rory McPolin, James Casey, John Catterson.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete