Silver Medal for John Buller

Wednesday, 25 January 2017

Silver Medal for John Buller thumbnailJohn Buller on the podium receiving his silver medal and Ballyward man Gareth McKee who earned a respectful fifth place.

BANBRIDGE CC's John Buller won a well deserved silver medal at the National Cyclo-cross Championships, which were held at Tollymore Forest Park.

The Ulster Junior Champion was unable to reel in the Kilcullen Cyclist JB Murphy. The Banbridge cyclist didn't get a good start, but with a group of six riding strong in the first lap gaps started to appear, as JB Murphy attacked on the beginning of the second lap applying pressure, a gap was opened with John and Thomas Creighton chasing.

John found his form on lap three of six after a swift bike change in the pits. Finding his legs he opened a gap on Thomas but a case of too little too late as he could only bridge the gap to JB, only holding the gap and gaining no ground.

John said he was very happy to secure silver in front of the amazing support from fellow club members. He praised his pit crew for all their help and support leading up to the race ensuring his bikes were in perfect running order!

Roger Aiken once again won gold and the Champion's jersey.

Banbridge rider Gareth McKee took the lead for the first two laps, before Roger put the pedal down leaving the opposition scrapping for second place. Gareth, on his third outing of the year eventually slipped back in the field, finishing a superb fifth place. Gareth said it was a tough race and he tried to stay with the leaders but was unable to close the gap.

Banbridge rider Ruth Aiken was unable to make progress in the Women's Championship but was fourth Ulsterwoman home in an outstanding field. Race winner, Beth McCuskey from Team Jaden-Weldtite winning from Chicago's Maria Larkin.

Banbridge riders Don Travers, Mark Kendall and Chris McCann all had respectable races in the Masters' Classes.

The M40 Champion was the outstanding Robin Seymour, Team WORC and the M50 Champion was Newry Wheeler Des Woods, who again retained his National Jersey. Terry O'Neill, Epic MTB, was gold medal winner in the M60 Class.

A big thanks to Banbridge members and pitt crews, Liam McKivergan, Ian Cochrane, Jonathan Buller, Simon Curry, Brian Curran, Phil Beattie, Peadar McGreevy, Matt Adair and Shannon Buller for their great efforts!

All the riders appreciated the support from all the Club members who turned up to cheer them on all around the course.

Finally a big thanks to Dromara Cycling Club who once again hosted the National Championships building a great course around Tollymore and producing another great event.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete